The Best Four-Letter Word

sunanda satwah
5 min readSep 24, 2023

When I was younger, I thought the best 4 letter word was ‘LOVE’. Yup, i was naive and enjoyed the privilege of youth.
Now, that I am older, my favourite 4 letter word is ‘DONE’. Perhaps this is what mid-life crisis feels like.

I am a big fan of TTDs aka Things To Do lists. Part of me agrees with all the well-meaning writers who insist we should chuck these lists because all they do is, fill us up with disappointments at the end of the day- when we look at the tasks yet not done. Oh buoy! sure they do & how!

And yet, like an addict, I cannot help myself but make these lists. I think they make me more productive & get me ‘in the zone.’ My sister thinks they are my favourite procrastinating tool. Rather than attacking the task at hand, I’d rather make a TTD list & strike off the first task which inadvertently would be:
□ Make a TTD list for the day.
What can I say, I am a sucker for rewarding small wins!

I suppose this habit dates back to childhood, when I employed this system for studying, completing homework & assignments. Drawing a horizontal line cutting across a task completed, felt wonderful. These days because, sometimes I am required to refer to the task on the list again, instead of striking it out, I merely draw a tick mark & write ‘Done’ in front of it. Sometimes, I may still strike a task out & write ‘Done,’…

--

--